news

The Ruff Song is released!

What's going on

  • Coming Out is released! 19 November 2018

    Our new EP "Coming Out" i released, you stream or buy over here:

    Radio Night on iTunes

    Radio Night on Spotify

    Radio Night on Amazon Music

  • The Ruff Song! 16 August 2018

    A new tune, "The Ruff Song" is now released on youtube! Its the first song from our soon to be released EP. that said, we are back!

  • A visit at the Genelec Artistroom 17 January 2017

    The Expected visited Genelec Artist Room and here are the results of that fun afternoon. We'd like to thank all the good peeps at Genelec!

  • I Wan't More released! 27 August 2016

    An exclusive world premier for The Expected's new video I Want More on soundi.fi!

    I Want more is also available on spotify, iTunes and Amazon

  • International airtime on Jonathan 's Lopsided World 30 August 2016

    The Expected will get airtime on "International Radio Personality" 2015 WINNER! Jonathan L:s radio show in the following cities from Friday 26th August – 1st September Los Angeles, Arizona, Berlin, Liverpool, New Zealand, Sydney, Gothenburg, Birmingham and Manchester.

    HERE IS THE SCHEDULE BELOW
    Check website www.jlradio.com for set-list

    Friday August 26 www.merseyradio.co.uk
    Liverpool, England
    6pm United Kingdom - 7pm Central Europe
    America:10am Pacific- 12pm Central- 1pm East Coast

    Saturday August 27 www.merseyradio.co.uk
    Liverpool, England
    8am United Kingdom - 9am Central Europe
    America: Midnight Pacific

    Saturday August 27 www.indie1031.com
    Los Angeles
    America: 11am Pacific- Central- 2pm East Coast
    Europe: 19:00 GMT- 20:00 CET- 21:00 EET

    Saturday August 27 on Nusakan Radio
    Birmingham, England
    www.nusakan.media
    5pm United Kingdom -6pm Central Europe
    America: 9am Pacific- 11am Central -Noon East Coast

    Saturday August 27 on Firebrand Radio
    Manchester, England
    www.firebrandradio.co.uk
    9pm United Kingdom- 10pm Central Europe
    1pm Pacific- 3pm Central- 4pm East Coast

    Sunday August 28 on www.kfma.com
    Tucson, Arizona Rock 102FM
    11pm Pacific
    Monday 7am U.K.- 8am Central Europe

    Sunday August 28 on www.indie1031.com
    Los Angeles
    10pm Pacific- 12am Central- 1am East Coast

    Sunday August 28 on www.andhow.org
    107.5FM New Zealand
    8pm in New Zealand --6pm Sydney, Australia

    Runs following Wednesday
    August 31
    Phoenix
    KWSS 93.9 FM Phoenix (www.kwss.org) at 10pm

    Runs following Wednesday www.indie1031.com
    August 31
    Los Angeles
    10pm Pacific- 12am Central- 1am East Coast

    Runs following Thursday
    September 1
    www.radioandra.se
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    11am Pacific- 1pm Central- 2pm East Coast
    Europe: 19:00 GMT- 20:00 CET- 21:00 EET

  • New song - I Wan't More will be released 26.8.2016 22 August 2016

    "I want more" will be available on most digital/download services on friday the 26th of august 2016.

    We started recording this new pop song in Liverpool at the Elevator studios and finnished it back here in Finland during the summer. A melodic, light on the verse heavy on the chorus. Good stuff!

  • The Expected in the UK 28 April 2016

    We are going to play on the International Pop Overthrow (IPO) in Liverpool 17.-24.4.2016! The Expected will hit the stage at the Cavern Club tue 17.4. at 20:30 and at the Cavern Pub on thu 18:30. Follow our trip on facebook.

    IPO pressrelease in finnish.

  • Spring update! 27 April 2016

    Magnificient Friday Folks!

    There's a rumour going around the town that The Expected has quit because you haven't heard of us in a while. That's not true at all. We have been weaving new and huge plots to be announced next week! So stay tuned for BIG news!

    Before that, one gig announcement: We will play in Lahti, Finland, in a club called Tirra with a great Duran Duran -tribute band at sat 07.05.2016. Welcome y'all!

  • Radio Night is released! 20 November 2015

    Our new EP Radio Night is now released! Available for digital download and streaming on:

    Radio Night sleeve

    Nothing Action Video

  • Radio Night 14 March 2014

    We are back. Our new EP titled Radio Night, will be published November 20. The record release gig will take place on 17th December at Semifinal, Helsinki. With us will be the excellent Hypnomen!

    Radio Night sleeve

  • The Expected - One on Spotify 5 May 2013

    The Expected - ONE, now available on Spotify.

    The Expected - one album cover
  • American Dream 19 April 2013

    Our second video "American Dream" world premiere 20.4.2013 at rumba.fi. Don't you miss it!

    Music video written, directed & edited by Genius Films. Filmed by Jukka Salminen.

  • The Expected - One - is released! 3 April 2013

    Our first album, ONE is released today! You can find it on:

    The Expected - One

    Tracklist

    1. Through The Rhymes
    2. American Dream
    3. The Other One Go
    4. Roller One
    5. Child Of The Moon
    6. King Kong
    7. Sunny Dreams
    8. No Favors
    9. Better Times
    10. Traffic Light

    The Expected

    Janne Äyräväinen: Vocals, guitars
    Paul Wallin: Guitars, lead vocal on Better Times
    Roger Sandell: Bass
    Tero Rikkonen: Drums, acoustic guitar,keyboards, vocals, lead vocal on Traffic Light

    Guest musicians

    Raine Kasper: French horn on Traffic Light
    Jermu Koivukoski: Fluegelhorn, trumpet and piccolo trumpet on Traffic Light
    Noora Virtanen: Backing vocals on Child of The Moon
    Topi Karvonen: Bass on No Favors

    Info

    Written, performed and produced by The Expected (Except “King Kong” written by Ray Davies)
    Horn arrangement by Tero Rikkonen

    Recorded at Finnvox, Mankku and Studio Petroskoi by Janne Äyräväinen, Tero Rikkonen and Anssi Tenhunen

    Mixed by Mikko Kilpeläinen at Äänivallila

    Mastered by Jaakko Viitalähde at Virtalähde Mastering

  • King Kong! 11 March 2013

    The first video and single “King kong” from the forthcoming debut album by The Expected.

    The Expected's debut album 'ONE' is released on Wednesday April 3rd by Amplisonic Records.

  • Hitting the studio 14 March 2012

    We'll be hitting the studio in April to record a four song EP. At the moment were working hard on choosing songs and arranging them to be fit for fight.

  • Featured 14 January 2012

    Our first release - No Favors. The song appears on Pop @ Rock Collection California - Kittilä!

Upcoming gigs

No Upcoming Gigs at the moment...

All gigs

Follow us

Find (and buy!) our music on

Coming Out on iTunes

Coming Out on Spotify

Coming Out on Amazon Music